Oregon Uninsured Motorist Laws
Posted on September 17, 2020 in Car Accident
Every state in the country requires drivers to carry auto insurance in order for them to be legal on the roadway. Oregon is no exception. Specifically, drivers in Oregon are required by law to carry the following minimum insurance, or they could face serious legal penalties:
- Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property Damage: $20,000 per accident
- Personal Injury Protection: $15,000 per person
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
You will notice among this required insurance that Oregon requires motorists to carry uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage. This differs from other states. Not every state in the US requires drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage, but this type of coverage can be incredibly beneficial.
What is uninsured motorist coverage?
Oregon requires all motorists to carry $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of uninsured motorist coverage. This type of insurance, as the name suggests, is designed to protect drivers in the event they are struck by an uninsured driver. When a person is in an accident caused by an uninsured driver, uninsured motorist coverage will cover the expenses that the at-fault driver’s insurance carrier would have covered.
Additionally, uninsured motorist coverage is particularly useful in the event drivers are involved in hit and run accidents. In many cases, hit and run drivers are not apprehended by law enforcement officials after the incident. Even in cases where hit and run drivers are located, it is often discovered that the driver did not have auto insurance in the first place, which is often a reason why people leave the scene of an accident.
Can drivers opt not to carry uninsured motorist insurance coverage in Oregon?
No, drivers do not have the option to opt-out of uninsured motorist coverage in Oregon. If an Oregon driver does not have uninsured motorist coverage, this means that they do not have automobile insurance at all. If drivers failed to show proof of insurance, this could result in severe consequences. If a driver cannot produce proof of insurance when a police officer asks for it, they could face an uninsured driving charge. Upon conviction, this could result in a fine of at least $130 and potentially up to $1,000.
Additionally, an uninsured driver will have their driver’s license suspended, and the Department of Motor Vehicles will require then a person obtain insurance in order for them to get their license back. In order to have a license reinstated after a suspension due to not having insurance, a driver must have their insurance carrier file an SR-22 form as evidence of their future financial responsibility. Drivers will be required to maintain SR-22 coverage for a period of three years.
If a driver is caught operating their vehicle without insurance after being involved in an accident, their license and registration will be suspended for one year, even if they were not at fault for the collision. Again, a driver will need to have their insurance carrier submit an SR-22 form so that they will be able to legally drive after the suspension period ends.
When you are ready to seek justice, contact our Portland car accident attorneys today.