Do I Need A License For A Moped In Oregon?
Posted on March 2, 2020 in Auto Accidents
Mopeds have become a popular mode of transportation for many people across the state of Oregon. While these vehicles may provide a convenient and relatively cost-efficient way to get around, it is important for our citizens to thoroughly understand Oregon moped laws. There are plenty of misconceptions about whether or not you need a license to operate a moped in this state. Here, we want to clear up any misconceptions you may have.
Oregon license requirements for a moped
Unlike some other states, moped riders in Oregon do need a license in order to operate these vehicles. In this state, you must have a special Class C driver’s license to be legal on a moped, and riders must be 16 years of age or older.
This license is considered a moped-restricted license and only allows for the operation of mopeds. If somebody has a moped-restricted license and is operating another vehicle, they could receive a citation law enforcement.
To receive a moped license in Oregon, applicants must take a moped knowledge test impasse a moped riding skills test. Before a person can take the moped riding skills test, they must bring their proof of insurance with them to the DMV.
What is considered a moped in Oregon?
To be considered a moped in Oregon, a vehicle must have a combustion engine ranging from 35.01 to 50 cubic centimeters. The vehicle must be unable to travel faster than 30 mph on a level road and should not require any clutching or shifting by the operator after the power system is engaged. Any moped-like vehicle that can travel more than 30 mph will be considered a motorcycle.
Mopeds in Oregon are defined separately from “scooters.” A motor-assisted scooter in this state is a vehicle that has an engine size of 35 cubic centimeters or less (or an electric power output of not more than 1,000 watts) and cannot exceed speeds of more than 24 mph on level ground.
Other moped information that is important to know
In addition to having a moped license, all mopeds in Oregon must be registered and licensed with the DMV. Riders must have insurance if they wish to operate public roadways or premises open to the public. Moped riders must wear a helmet that is considered DOT-approved. Passengers are not allowed on a moped in Oregon.
Moped accidents can lead to serious injuries
Moped riders, just like bicyclists and motorcyclists, are extremely vulnerable in the event an accident occurs with the passenger vehicle. Even with a helmet requirement for moped riders, an accident is very likely to cause a serious injury. It is not uncommon to see the following injuries in the aftermath of a moped accident on Oregon roadways:
- Spinal cord trauma with possible paralysis
- Head injuries
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Internal organ damage
- Internal bleeding
- Broken or dislocated bones
- Severe lacerations or road rash
Just because a moped is not supposed to travel over 30 mph does not mean that an accident will be less severe. A vehicle traveling at 30 mph certainly has enough speed to cause serious injuries for the rider, and vehicles around mopeds have no such speed restrictions. Moped riders are often impacted by vehicles traveling at much higher rates of speed.
Call us today to speak with an experienced Portland personal injury attorney.