Injury by Uninsured Driver in Salem
All drivers in Oregon have to carry automotive insurance in at least the minimum required amounts. Failing to do so is an infraction punishable with fines and potentially the loss of the driver’s license. Unfortunately, hundreds of drivers break the rules and drive uninsured in Oregon every day. If one of these negligent drivers crashes into you, the claims process can be confusing.
At Paulson Coletti Trial Attorneys PC, we can help you with a car accident claim involving an uninsured or underinsured driver. If you have personal injuries from an uninsured driver, we can explain your legal options at no charge or obligation during a free initial consultation. Contact us today to schedule your meeting in Salem, Oregon.
Why Clients Trust Us
- We have decades of experience handling car accident and personal injury claims throughout Salem, including uninsured and underinsured motorist cases.
- We have maintained an excellent reputation throughout Oregon over the years, with hundreds of positive client testimonials.
- We are community-focused, taking pride in how we can help people in Salem and throughout Marion County. We give back using our time and resources.
- We provide legal representation for uninsured driver accident claims at no risk to you. Our Oregon car accident lawyers work on a contingency fee basis.
Why It Is Important to Hire an Attorney
It can be even more difficult than normal to seek compensation after a collision with an uninsured driver. The at-fault driver’s lack of car insurance will eliminate this as an option for your financial recovery. You may need to look to your own auto insurer for coverage instead. A lawyer can help you negotiate with your insurance provider for a fair amount of compensation. A lawyer can also investigate for signs of a third party’s fault, such as the city or an automaker. Your attorney can seek maximum compensation for you while you rest and recover.
What Are Your Options After an Injury From an Uninsured Driver?
Oregon is unique in that it offers no-fault insurance, but it is not a true no-fault state. Oregon’s auto insurance law requires at least $25,000 in bodily injury/death coverage per person, $50,000 per accident and $25,000 for property damages. Drivers must also carry $15,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance and $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident in uninsured motorist insurance.
After a vehicle collision, you have the right to hold the at-fault driver financially accountable. His or her bodily injury and property damage liability should cover your damages. If the other driver is uninsured, however, you may need to seek coverage from your PIP and uninsured motorist insurance instead. Personal injury protection will pay for your medical expenses and other costs after an accident, whether you caused the crash or not. Uninsured motorist insurance can also pay for your medical bills if the other driver does not have insurance.
The lawyers from Paulson Coletti Trial Attorneys PC can help you with the insurance claims process after a crash with an uninsured driver. We can negotiate with your insurance provider on your behalf to make sure an adjuster does not take advantage of you. We can also investigate the possibility of bringing a personal injury lawsuit against someone other than the uninsured driver. If a third party contributed to your crash or injuries, a lawsuit may provide greater compensation for your damages.
Consult With a Lawyer Today
If an uninsured driver in Salem injured you, please contact our attorneys right away to request a free case review. Our lawyers can assess your recent car accident, explain your legal options and potentially help you win compensation for your damages. We will not let an insurance company convince you to settle for less than your injuries demand during this tough time. Call (503) 226-6361 today for your free consultation.