How to Find Traffic Accident Reports in Oregon
If you or somebody you care about has been injured in an accident, it is very likely that you are going to need the accident report to move forward with an insurance claim. Regardless of who was at-fault for the incident, the accident report is a crucial piece of the puzzle. Here, we want to discuss the requirements for reporting accidents in Oregon and how you can obtain your crash report.
When do Accidents Need to be Reported?
Oregon law specifies that individuals are required to submit an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 72 hours after a crash occurs when:
- There is at least $2,500 worth of damage to any vehicle (even if it is a single-vehicle crash)
- There is at least $2,500 worth of damage to a vehicle and any vehicle is towed from the scene
- There is at least $2,000 worth of damage to any property other than the vehicle
- The incident results in injury or death to any people involved
Failing to file a report when required will result in the DMV issuing a suspension notice for your license. It is important to point out that the police report sent to the DMV does not exempt you from submitting an Oregon Traffic Accident and Insurance Report.
How to Obtain the Accident Report
The DMV will not be able to provide you with a copy of your accident report in Oregon. If you are filling out the traffic report sent to the DMV, we strongly encourage you to make a copy of the report and keep it for your own records before you submit it.
However, you do have the right to recover any police report submitted as a result of the accident. You will be able to recover this directly from the responding police department. The procedure for recovering the police report will vary from one jurisdiction to the other.
For example, if the Portland Police Department handled your accident, you will have to contact the Portland Police Records Division, pay a small fee, and then submit your records request through the mail, over the phone, or online.
Why the Traffic Reports Matter
Accident reports are important, particularly when it comes to proving liability and recovering compensation for your accident. If another driver’s negligence was responsible for the incident, the police report would be one part of the evidence used to prove liability and help you recover compensation. Your insurance carrier will need the police report in order to move forward with the incident.
Additionally, if the other party has blamed you for the incident, either partially or completely, the accident report will be important in establishing exactly what happened. Even though the action report will not be the only evidence used, it is important.
If you are struggling to recover compensation after a vehicle accident occurred, or if you have been blamed for an accident that you know you did not cause, we encourage you to reach out to a skilled Portland car accident lawyer as soon as possible. An attorney will offer a free examination of your claim and help you make the best decision moving forward for your particular situation.